The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A bookish day

In the morning I attended the session with Nina Stibbe (she of Love, Nina fame). Her latest book Went to London, took the Dog is funny, so I've ordered it from the library. Went for coffee with my friend J from nursery days afterwards. Stroud was dreich and dripping. Went to my favourite charity shop and bought a cosy cardigan and something that might do as a Secret Santa gift, if I draw a woman's name...

Walked home, sorted out my spices and herbs. I think this is round 3 of this project but I really couldn't say. Sat down to look at an online tutoria,l then heard a car horn beep (how rude!) and it was my friend GG to take me to the next event, Snow widows and Polar Men. Wow, that one was totally amazing! Almost too much information to be crammed into an hour, but I'm definitely going to be reading Katherine's book, Snow Widows. Please go and see her /read the book if you have the chance. The wives and the mothers of the successful-ish Scott expedition were just do interesting: a singer, a sculptor, a naturalist....the list goes on.But for Katherine, they'd all be forgotten, apart from Lady Scott the sculptor whose house you can see at Slimridge, and the naturalist, who has a bat named after her 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.