Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

A loveliness of ladybirds

Today so far has been a lot better than forecast here. It's not yet rained, although there is still time, and with sunshine and a reduction in the wind, it was actually quite pleasant outside.  I went for a wander around the park for my blip whilst hubby went food shopping - I know who had the better end of this deal :) 

There are currently a huge amount of ladybirds, mostly harlequins, on the railings of the park and on the neighbouring trees. I know these are supposed to be bad news, out-competing our native ladybirds for aphids and even predating them.  I looked up the collective noun for ladybirds was and it doesn't seem very appropriate in this instance for these voracious harlequins.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.