Auguries

By McCaviti

Museum Exhibits

Very enjoyable ride around the lake today, reflections were magnificent (see Extras). Enjoyed a quiet drink in the Members’ Lounge and then managed to enjoy the museum in fairly quiet conditions. The new galleries are just over a year old and very immersive, interleaving indigenous, colonial and contemporary perspectives. The giant video displays are my favorite - communing with the humpbacks and visiting Uluru, but I also have a big soft spot for the giant termite mound (architectural model also  pictured). The minerals display (glimpse thru the croc extras) is a shambles - it looks very pretty but is completely unlabeled (an interactive computer lets you focus on individual minerals, but there are over 300 to identify and who knows where on the wall it is).

Anyway, blissfully peaceful for most of our visit, although you can see from my main photo the school hordes were there. I loved the arrangement of bored teens counterpointing the dinosaur and giant truck. Not my best photo of the day, but the most interesting to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.