analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Three Hamburgers. Leitz Summicron 50mm DR

A few days ago, I noticed, off in a corner on my work bench, an old pottery mug containing a number of pens, pencils, marking knives and so on. The mug has two companions, all from the same pottery in South Africa.  Fellow Blipper, my cousin Crispin25, has a more extensive collection, also from this pottery.  We decided to coordinate our Blips to show our collections. Here's a link to Crispin's.
Some background:  Back in ‘60s and ‘70s South Africa, my family used to visit the tidy university town of Grahamstown – now called Makhanda - in the Eastern Cape Province.  My mom’s oldest sister and her husband, Crispin’s parents, lived there.  Back in those days, there was a pottery business in the town owned by a refugee from Nazi Germany, Jurgen Hamburger.  Having been forced to flee in 1938, he was able to settle in Grahamstown, and with financial help, established his business.  Hamburger had trained as a professional potter in Germany.  The studio was in business for many years; my research reveals that he died in Grahamstown in about 1996.
When my family visited, my mom would make a pilgrimage to Herr Hamburger’s studio to stock up on gifts for her friends when we returned home to Cape Town.  I remember the dusty shelves filled with stacks of mugs, saucers, plates, jugs, all decorated by hand in a rather charming if unsophisticated style. And I remember with great nostalgia, the coffee and Ouma rusks – a South African delight, and there's even a Wiki article - enjoyed from the mugs which we brought home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.