Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

All The Little Lights

37 days until Christmas. I'm not counting down or anything but it's just around the corner! It's the first Christmas Little Man and I are celebrating with my emidiate family, the first Christmas outside of England since 2016. Its great. It also means that I get to share a bit of Dutch culture with Little Man. The town workers went round today putting up the Christmas decorations, it was a lot of fun and they also have plugged everything in so the town has all these beautiful Christmas lights everywhere.

St Nicholas comes to the Netherlands every year from Spain. Each town will welcome him on a different date in November. There are lots of fun and excitement right up until the 5th of December, which is St Nicholas' birthday. He's the patron Saint of sailors (amongst others) and I grew up on stories of him giving gifts to the children of the sailors who were at sea on December 5th. It's the first time Little Man will be celebrating Sinterklaas and I'm really excited to experience it with him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.