Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Traeth Lafan

In a generally dull day, even the briefest glimpses of sunlight  bring relief. There’s a harsh wind blowing off the sea, yet the channels of Traeth Lafan’s salt marsh are blissfully sheltered, and it’s here we find the overwintering flocks of wigeon, their chattering  whistles echoing through the area. 

I find them the most charming of ducks with deep appealing eyes and the most glorious feather patterns, the female competing with the male in terms of beauty, and - in my opinion - winning. 

G walks on ahead, complaining that it’s far too cold to stand around, and completes a loop around the marshes, while I stay put, mesmerised by these little beauties. And it’s not just the wigeons. Over towards the sea, a large colony of curlews roost together, heads tucked against the wind, and as I photograph them I notice a pair of elegant pintails floating past along a channel. And then I spot three teals standing stock-still and meerkat-like within the reed-beds. Traeth Lafan’s treasure trove of bird life is a joy. 

The sunshine is short-lived and soon cold November dullness clouds the scene, reminding me I’m glad I’ve worn my gloves for the first time this year. We hurry home to warmth before the rain returns. 

Today’s main is a female wigeon, with a male and meerkat-teals in extras! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.