Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

It had rained most of the night, and that's how it continued for most of the day, but we decided to go for a walk anyway. As you do! 

The plan was to walk up to Styhead Tarn, then perhaps circle round to Sprinkling Tarn and down. Fi wanted to take the right hand path up to Taylorgill Force waterfall as it's "more interesting", so we did. Indeed it was more interesting, the scrambly path up the base/side of the rockface was fun, even in the pouring rain! But I shouldn't have done it because a high step on my left, with the consequential rock over, resulted in an "Ow". By the time we got to the footbridge before the Tarn we'd all had enough of the weather, with rain stinging our faces and wind gusts threatening to knock us over. I turned to go down the other side of Styhead Gill, but the other four carried on. They're far more hard-core than me, and they're welcome!

I took my time coming down, the rocks were slippery, managed to get a drink and a bit of lunch next to a wall, and reached the hut where Rich was about to get the fire going - he'd bailed much sooner than I had.

My knee has been iced, it'll be okay, and I can walk carefully, but I shouldn't have done a walk that involved going up or down. That was stupid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.