wingpig

By wingpig

handled

Fortunately, I was alerted to this by a slight but very suspicious waggle when I changed gear. Some delicate braking later, I walked the last half-mile to the office. The break wasn't complete and the (removed) Klick-fix basket bracket might have helped stabilise it a bit but it's certainly more useful that it happened on the way to work rather than on a day-off medium-distance trundle. I shifted the clamp to have the break in the middle at lunchtime to make it just possible to gingerly ride home on quiet roads, in a gear which required no hauling up on the bars and at speeds which required no clutching at the brakes. The precise model of bar is no longer available, but if the replacements I ordered at lunchtime don't fit the bar-end shifters I can always swap in the identical bars on the singlespeed, though replacing more than one set of bar tape, cable routers and the extra wee Sugru things I added to make the grips more comfortable would be irritating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.