curns' corner

By curns

Muffins

I got up this morning and think I’m feeling completely recovered from whatever minor side-effects. I had from my jab on Saturday. Today is the day of blood sugar monitoring and so I am on a restricted diet for the first part of the day and everything has to be done at fairly precise timings. The rules say that I cannot have anything to eat, except the breakfast muffins that I have been provided with and black coffee or tea and/or water.  Thankfully I can have those drinks because the muffins, pictured, might be nutritionally designed for these tests, but they are incredibly dense and dry.  

I spent most of the morning, trying to avoid my usual coffee, cravings and catching up on some work. A nice chat with Nicola at one point about how we will need to work together to get some of the future work completed. And before I knew it, it was lunchtime and I had two more muffins to eat with a glass of water. I did also have a black coffee which is permitted. 

At a very precise time, the app told me I had to go go and take the finger prick blood test which was the piece I was most nervous about.  Who really wants to punch a hole in their finger? In reality, it was pretty straightforward although getting the drops of blood fall precisely on to the card was quite difficult and I’m not sure I was as neat as the instructions suggested.  This stage was complete and I was able to think about eating something more normal, although I avoided it for a couple of hours before I caved and had had a cup of tea. I managed to get the sample to the post office before the end of the day.

After work we decided to go for a walk as I had not been able to do it in the morning. We took a nice long stroll for about 40 minutes and then came back.  PY cooked a stir-fry and I discovered that I need to log this food as part of my tests. We couldn’t really settle on anything to watch on the TV and so watched a couple of old Modern Family episodes and went to bed early. I listened to a podcast about sugar which didn’t really teach me anything but allowed me to fall asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.