Lisa's life...

By lisa24270

Thankful

Backblip.

I do not like Mondays!

Didn't ever make it to bed on Sunday night with chronic pelvic and back pain, severe bladder problems and nausea - fairly convinced I must have kidney stones I finally called 111 at 2am.

Was sent to out of hours GP 40 minutes away (still think it's ridiculous that Ely hospital doesn't provide this service!) and then to A & E at Addenbrookes an hour in the other direction!

I hated having to wake F up to drive me but I'm so very thankful and to the chronically understaffed NHS who only had one nurse on taking blood samples for the whole of the A & E deparment. I didn't get any anti-sickness or pain relief until after 7am so I was in quite a state by then.

Had lots of tests and a few scans and thankfully once the pain relief kicked in I was able to provide a, very small, sample which showed no infection,  but more importantly to me meant I didn't need to be catheterised! I did have a high white cell count in one blood sample but it's not known whether that's due to my whole pelvic area being so inflamed or the fact I threw up 2 or 3 times in all the tooing and froing.

I'm back on my gynae painkillers and never far from a hot water bottle but feeling lots better if rather uncomfortable still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.