Keith B

By keibr

It's that time of year...

It's dark by 3 o'clock, there's snow on the ground (and more falling today), lights are appearing in gardens and windows, candles burn, and people start to talk of Advent and Christmas. In other words, it's time for saffron buns to be baked.
The basic saffron bun (here's a BBC recipe) tastes good but is somewhat dry. As I started to bake them, years ago, a recipe appeared on a milk packet, suggesting using quark (kvarg) which is a curdled milk product, rich in protein. Thick Greek yoghurt is fairly close if quark isn't available. This definitely made the buns more moist and I was happy with the results. Since then I've adapted sourdough techniques such as autolysing and using a tangzhon to make them even moister.
Those added techniques mean the process becomes more complicated and takes longer, but for me (and especially for Jan) the results are well worth the extra time and effort.
As usual I'm blipping the finished result but in the extra you can see part of the production.
It was the last film of the Film Studio season tonight - an Italian film "The Eight Mountains". There's a couple of excellent Guardian reviews available so I won't go into details but I would recommend the film and would happily see it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.