iaint

By iaint

Wee Day Out

Well, that was quite a day. 

It started with Parkrun at Lochore Meadows in stunningly beautiful weather - as Blipped. The temperature was around 0º, and was a good incentive to finish as quickly as possible. 

I am not sure which I enjoyed more - the run, or the hot shower and hot porridge when I got home. 

After that I drove over to Broxburn, near Edinburgh Airport, to join my cousin Mike, his grandson and a couple of friends to support Buckie Thistle in their Scottish Cup (3rd round) football match against Broxburn Athletic. 

It was one of the most exciting games I have seen for a long time - two last minute equalisers from Buckie at the end of normal time and then extra time, followed by a penalty shoot-out which they won. 

By the end of normal time the temperature was back down to 0º and after more than 2.5 hours standing there, all us old men were frozen rigid. The grandson seems to be immune to the cold. 

I was so, so happy to have some soup ready to stick in the microwave when I finally got home. 

I am tired now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.