There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Whirling Rainbow of Peace / Moon Corona

It was a celestial events sort of day, bookended by two amazing sights, one provided by the sun in the morning and the other provided by the moon at night. When I went for my morning walk, I was initially heading for Stonerow Lane, but when I saw the morning sun glittering above the trees as I strolled past Tow Hill, I knew I just had to walk up that road and into the light. And here is what I saw.

This is a celestial phenomenon known as a sun halo. Technically speaking, this display shows: a 22-degree halo, sun dogs, and tangent arcs. The magic rainbow effect that you see is created by light shining through ice crystals (which have six sides, and reflect and refract light differently than water droplets) at the right altitude and the right angle; you may learn more about sun halos here.

In the Seneca tradition, this is known as the Whirling Rainbow of Peace, and you can read more about that here. It is a sign indicating the promise of peace among all nations and all people. The linked story also shares a strategy that I used many times in my work life to bring disparate people with competing interests together to solve problems; I've put that part below.

Then in the evening, there was a cloud show, with the clouds like ocean waves on the sand. And then came the moon, and it burst through with great light. There was a corona around the moon and of course, I couldn't resist that. So there is a shot of the moon looking like new galaxies are being born, even as we watch, in the extras.

I have two images and so here are two songs. The first is for the Whirling Rainbow of Peace in the shot above. I dedicate this image and song to one I love who is really struggling right now, who was on my mind and in my heart, as I discovered the sun halo that seemed like a promise of better days ahead. The song was written by Dolly Parton, and it's Light of a Clear Blue Morning. I'm also including a great cover by the Wailin' Jennys.

The second is for the moon with its corona in the extras, looking like new universes are being birthed even as we watch: Survivor, with Ever Since the World Began. I'm also including the song my husband was singing as he stood behind me: the Knack, with My Sharona (except he was singing My Corona)!

Note 1: Here is the story from the Whirling Rainbow Prophecy at the link above: In our Seneca Tradition, Grandmother Twylah has taught us many uses for the Whirling Rainbow of Peace. When we are having difficulty in any situation, we visualize the Rainbow of Peace encircling the situation, the people involved, and the disharmony. Then we twinkle our eyes with joy, sending our inner-peace to the situation. In using this technique and following it with ceremony, we place our intention inside the Whirling Rainbow of Peace.

Note 2: I think I somehow hyperextended my right knee, and spent most of the day hobbling around and barely able to walk, sitting with ice packs on my knee.

Note 3: I made a batch of cinnamon icing (8 oz cream cheese, 2 tsp vanilla, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 4 cups confectioner sugar), and those simple Pillsbury cinnamon rolls from a can. They are surprisingly good, and easy, and make the house smell fabulous. I got to lick the beaters myself, but it wasn't really as much fun as I thought it would be. When I was a child, the taste of the icing on the beaters was sweetened by the tears of my siblings who didn't get any, LOL!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.