Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Wells Next The Sea

W and I did the same walk out from Wells to the beach and back that I did a couple of weeks ago.  Cold and a bit dull, but a nice walk nonetheless.  The tide was out so the beach was about at its biggest, with the sea only barely visible in the distance.  I took several shots on the way out but while on the beach noticed I was getting a message saying I had no memory card in the camera so none had been saved.  Turns out that when I removed the SD card yesterday to transfer my photos over, although I reinserted it, I hadn't properly clicked it back into place.  Lesson learned.

My main shot is across the East Fleet from the walk to the beach, with what appears to be an old lifeboat moored and a small flock of Brent Geese feeding and quietly burbling away.  I've added some extras; the first one shows how easy it is for people to get cut off when the tide comes in; the channel is easy to walk across at low tide with only an inch or so of water, but when the tide comes in the channel rapidly fills up and the sandbank to the right gets cut off at first, and then completely covered by the sea.  During my last walk there the lifeboat had been called out to rescue some walkers.  I've also added a view of a nicely decorated beach hut, and another view across the East Fleet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.