Street furniture

Well, it's stopped raining but the humidity is now about 100% and as soon as you step outside the midges descend and you are eaten alive - the air is like soup. I tried to dig up the first of our new potatoes and could only manage one row, so intense was the attack - spuds looking good though.

Apart from that, I've been into Skibbereen today looking for something to display postcards in, and finding a few farewell pressies for colleagues. Suitable baskets were found for the postcards, and my three colleagues have a rose each - not just one rose, I've splashed out and bought the whole shrub! Skibbereen has seen better days but if you look closely there are all sorts of interesting things nestling amongst the old shop fronts. Today I was mostly blipping door furniture, encaustic tiles and mosaic pavements, as you do. This very fine front door is the entrance to a rather eccentric looking hotel, describing itself as Victorian. Along with the very ornate letter box there is a round door pull and a knocker, both equally elaborate. The paintwork is rather jaunty too.

Tomorrow is my last full day in school. My boot is loaded up already and creaking with books I have to return, and I have taken the advice of a couple of very sensible blippers and will take my boxes of 'stuff' to school, I'm sure they will be delighted.

Edit: Wednesday is my actual last day but I only have to go in for the afternoon and I fear there's a surprise!

Old Skibbereen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.