flavia13

By flavia13

GRASMERE

A good day today.  The sun was shining and although I felt tired and a bit down hubby persuaded me to go out.  I'm so glad he did.

There was thick frost in Grange but as soon as we got onto the A591 it sort of disappeared.  We could see some light frost in places where the sun hadn't got to but nowhere near as much as in Grange.  We expected it to be icier up The Lakes, but not on the main roads. 

I had to go back to Hayes Garden World anyway as something I bought for a gift last week, once I'd got it home I discovered that the cover required for batteries was missing and it wouldn't work without it.  So we got up there quite quickly, just going up via the A590 and A591.   The young man on the tills was very helpful and there was no problem with getting a refund.  All sorted in a few minutes.

We then went on up to Grasmere.   We parked in Stock Lane car park because I'd remembered that the other car park that I used to like to use now only takes apps or cards.  Anyway we went for a coffee, just in the Grasmere Garden Village because it was en-route and we only wanted coffee anyway.   They were actually under undergoing renovation but the cafe was open.

We then walked on up to the lake itself.  I always forget just how far out of the village the entrance to the lake is, it must be about a mile, or just under.  Anyway that is good for us.  We some workers repairing a dry stone wall and doing a grand job.

Met a few dogs on the way and walked along a part of Grasmere.   There were two jets flying over the lake twice, I managed to capture them.  Not great shots as I didn't get time to adjust the camera but you can see what they are.  It was very cold but so bright and sunny that photography was very difficult.  I've put together a few photos in collage in extras, hope you like them.  They're somewhat bright again but then it was an extremely bright day. 

We turned round and went back through Grasmere.  I couldn't believe it.  Literally I was just shutting the car door when the same 4 propeller  aeroplane that we'd seen last week flew very low and over us.  If it had just been about 30 seconds earlier I would have got a fabulous shot of it.  

We went to the Traveller's Rest and had a pleasant meal.  It's all beautifully set up for Christmas.  At lunch time they only ever do basic pub meals really but good ones.  I just had some scampi and Hubby had Cumberland Sausage and Mash.  Both tasty.

We then drove home and got back here for about 2.30.  

Hubby now off to the pub to meet up with one of his mates.  I will process more photos.  Tomorrow I will catch up with your blips.

Do take care everyone and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.