Kentboy

By Kentboy

I'm on the B5292

Today I was unsure of where to go, so I ended up on this road from Cockermouth to Whinlatter.  I intended (and did) taking photos from Noble Knott, a view that gives a good photo of Skiddaw and Bassenthwaite Lake.  I had stopped at one of the routes to Spout Force to take photos looking towards the waterfall (not in view) when these two logging lorries came down the hill.  As you can see they do fill up most of the road. On this part of the road there are bends and it would be difficult if they met with a vehicle going up the hill!
When my children were small the walks within the forest were a place for us to go.  Then it was just walking.  Now you have 'Go Ape,'  mountain bike trails,  the Gruffalo Trail (Gruffalo is a children's story) and a decent cafe.  We used to buy our Christmas trees from here, visit Santa and once looked at reindeer (one escaped, or so they say!)  
If you are living close by,  or get the chance to holiday in the Lake District, the new 'Wow Trail' has great views.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.