Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

To Holmgard and beyond

A back-blip. Friday was the first day of music at Download, and this band was one of the ones I was most looking forward to seeing. After barbecues and plenty of booze, we headed to the arena, playing footie with the many crushed cans on the ground en route.

This snap was taken from the midst of the quite frankly terrifying Turisas moshpit at Download festival. I took lots of shots but this is almost the only one that wasn't blurred due to the near-constant jostling. There were several occasions where I could lift my feet off the floor and not fall down, being held upright by the crowd pressing around me.

I was right at the front with Laureline and Dom (one of Martin's friends from Guernsey). I looped my arms around Laureline (she is petite so I can stand behind her without my view being obscured) and tried to make a protective barrier for her so she would be able to breathe.

We managed to borrow some 'war paint' from one of our fellow revellers - stored inside a skull-shaped pot. It was red and stained my skin instantly, but it looked convincingly like blood so I was happy to smear it over my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.