Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Let's Feed Brum

I had to drop the car in to check out the battery, which had gone flat recently for no apparent reason.  Unfortunately, I wasn't aware that the road to the garage was closed for two weeks, meaning I was half an hour late.  I was able to walk back along the closed road and I really struggled to understand why they had closed it at all!

It put me back but I still managed to catch a later train into Birmingham for a quick shopping trip.  I was walking through St Philips grounds when I saw this van, run by Let's Feed Brum, a local charity supporting those that are at risk of homelessness.  Checking out their website they do great work to support those less advantaged to find help.  It saddens me to see the need for the expansion of these chartable causes, including food banks, etc, in a modern society.  I don't wish to be political about this, but it seems wrong that so much third sector support of the less well off should be needed in these modern times.

Managed to get everything I wanted and even popped into a new DJI Hasselblad Shop in New Street where the Chinese assistant manager called Chris, demonstrated one of their racing drones flying through the shop while I watched with first person view (FPV) goggles.  It made me feel a bit nauseous for a moment.

Got back early afternoon in time to walk back up to the garage to collect the car.  They kindly didn't even charge me for the check up, though we're still not sure we've got to the bottom of the power drain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.