pandcjane

By pandcjane

Not the Best Day

So. Had no power since the middle of the night last night. Just my house, nowhere else in the road. communicated by bot (i think) with the National Grid and then a human being at UK Power Networks. UKPN inspected inside (fuses all good and meter display blank) and decided the problem was with the supply cable outside my house. As of 1830 this evening the UKPN Outside team (but not it turns out the UKPN filling holes back in team) were still busy digging holes outside my house and also my neighbours house. There was lots of digging becuase although they knew that the cable was shorting out somewhere, the bigger problem was exactly where. To their credit (and I was beginning to get a bit worried about my freezer contents (thank goodness i finished off the ice cream yesterday. God does indeed move in mysterious ways) by 7.30 they had found the problem section and repaired it. Phew. If they were unable to restore power then I had decided I would go to stay next door or with son Chris (taking freezer contents with me. I now have my heating on boost! I am very relieved and also accept that this is another 1st world problem. Thank goodness for the wood burner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.