flavia13

By flavia13

GRANGE CHRISTMAS TREE FESTIVAL

Another grey dreich day.  I had a much needed QiGong session this morning, as always I felt a little better afterwards.

Then G and I went into Grange as he had a couple of things he needed to post.  We went into St Paul's to see the Christmas Tree Festival.  There were 34 entries from all clubs, groups etc of all ages within the community.  The theme this year was The Beauty of Earth, such a lovely theme.  They were, as always amazing.  I particularly love the ones done by children and those groups that have homemade items.   There was one tree done by the Ukranians who are currently staying here and they had made these round tree danglies of the beauty of Ukraine, photos of places where they lived - it was very thought provoking.  I have included two of those in the second collage, in the middle of the bottom row.

I've done a couple of collages (see extras).  The volunteer there saw me using my camera and very kindly turned down the main lights so I could capture the tree lights better.  I never asked him to he just very kindly offered, that was very kind of him.

We spent a delightful hour plus there.  We thought we would then decide to try and go to Harry's for lunch.  Well that was the plan, again.  On  turning down into Main Road there was a huge line of traffic due to some repair working being carried out on the Christmas lights.  Although it was rightfully our road those coming up the road just kept coming and noone stopped to let those of us going down through.  At last somebody did and we got through.  I saw why no-one was giving way, the queue was from the clock tower right down past The Hazlemere cafe!!!

We went up to Low Newton to go to Harry's at Yew Tree Barn, but sadly there wasn't a spare space to park and it was only just after midday!!!.  The traffic news said there were large tail backs at Newby Bridge Iour other route home avoiding Grange) due to a traffic lights failure.   So I decided to scoot up through Cartmel.  You could tell there were problems at Newby Bridge as there was more traffic than usual coming  up from that way, but still not too bad.

We just went home and had a very nice lunch here.

Now settlings down to process the photos I took..  

That's all form me for today, do take care and stay safe and I will se you all there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.