Blush response

By Esper

A Cup Of Bourgeois Western Decadence, Please

On This Day In History
1969: Soviets declare nudity a sign of "western decadence."

Quote Of The Day
"I really like gratuitous nudity. I hate when people go, "I'll only do it if it makes sense for the movie." It never makes sense! So I like it - the more gratuitous the better."
(David Duchovny)

I'm totally with David. Generally speaking, nudity doesn't really have a place in movies. I usually feel uncomfortable when the camera follows characters into the bedroom. We never follow the people in our lives into their bedrooms (well, most of us don't, I hope) because what happens there has little significance to public life. 95% of the time, a movie plot can progress flawlessly without having to explore the characters' sex life, or portray them in any other situation in which they are undressed. So, if a film is going to have nudity, then be frank about it and make it gratuitous.

Déshabillez-moi (Warning: contains scenes of bourgeois western decadence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.