Elwetritsches Welt

By Elwetritsche

Don't cook and knit!

I just managed to set off the fire alarm.
The veggie  pot was already simmering and in the other pot the rice was to be pre-fried in oil before cooking. 
I walked away and forgot I had turned on the heat for the rice pot.
Continued with my knitting and was rudely woken up by the fire alarm in the living room, right above my head.

Kitchen, living room and and a third  room are all one long space, doors open. Smoke everywhere (smoke that gets through your nostrils straight to your brain). 
Took the pot off the stove and placed it into the sink with bare hands, luckily without burning them. Opened all windows while the alarm was still screaming. Shut off the alarm. Started shaking.

Thank goodness that oil didn't catch fire, it must have been a matter of moments before that would have happened  (or perhaps not, it wasn't that much oil in the pot, I really don't know).

However, smart me had already lit the two candles of the Adventskranz (Advent wreath) and it took me another short while to notice that the candles flames were wildly moving in the draft of all the open windows.
Blew out the candles.  Started breathing again.

I guess you could call this my lucky day and congratulate me.

The rice was cooked in another pot and my blip shows the first pot and first measures to rescue the first pot (boiling hot water with some added vinegar, diidn't work one bit). I think the pot is going to get a second life as a flower pot.

That was my Monday  (and a bit more at work, but who wants to know that?)

I now wonder whether I would have noticed earlier if my post-COVID senses for smelling and tasting were completely back again . Right now -after eating  - I can still only taste and smell that smoke. Burned in my nose and throat somewhere. 

19:00; 10°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.