David J. Rose

By djrose007

Dirty Vs Clean

Who'd have thought that setting off on a dry, sunny, and not too cold for December day, that you'd finish up with such a filthy bike! The boot on the right has had the dirt rinsed off, I think the difference is fairly obvious. The bike was the same so had to wash it when I got home.
I guess that's what you get for riding around in the countryside of Gloucestershire and Herefordshire after the recent heavy rains. Lots of run-off from the fields where torrents of water were running across the roads. Made worse when following lorries with the resultant spray. One particularly bad bit was near 'The Trumpet' crossroads, where I turned left to go to the village of Tarrington, Herefordshire, where I came across a raging stream of water racing across the road. Lorry in front, and a line of cars going in the opposite direction. I got it from the front and the side!
Why Tarrington? My 92 year old Aunt Grace lives in the village, it's the village my Father was from too, along with his 9 siblings.
I have wonderful memories of spending school summer holidays there including one year (at least) when my Uncle Jim picked me up in South Shields in his BRS (British Road Services) lorry and drove me all the way to Hereford, and then on to Tarrington in his car. I think I was about 5 but I still remember that journey in the early 1950's - no motorways, no plush soundproof cabins, no luxurious seating! I remember a large metal cover in the middle with the engine beneath it so it was noisy but nice and warm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.