suehutton

By suehutton

A deity nigh

I've been meaning to take a photo of this Dhofari (southern Oman) incense burner for ages. I have the frankincense, the bukhoor, the charcoal to burn but not a lighter to light the charcoal. I moved the box off the shelf, creating a bit of chaos on the floor as I did so, ordered a lighter which didn't work and now finally have a small 'blowtorch' that does the job. It's only taken four to five weeks to get round to it.

I bought a coffee jar full of incense pieces before I left Oman and once Len had got the charcoal burning, unwillingly I might add, he put a few pieces of incense on it. The objective had been to photograph the smoke trail, BUT, I had forgotten how to do it. Instead of a long exposure, and finding a cable  in order to use the Bulb mode is another story, I should have used flash. 

Ah well. You might just spot a thin trail of white smoke, if you look hard enough. The title comes from the carol We Three Kings, who brought gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh to the young child Jesus. Len did not like the smoke or smell so opened windows to get rid of them. I liked the smell of the incense.

Basil and I went out late for a walk.So late, I had to turn on the headlight on Cecily. Meanwhile, Len put up some Christmas lights in the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.