Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

The Half Moon

Searching through the attic of my late father's bungalow I came across this boxed wooden model construction kit for the galleon 'The Half Moon' complete with sails and rigging. This was the ship in which Henry Hudson set sail from Texel in search of the north-west passage in 1609. 

I suspect that the kit dates from the 1950s or earlier but I haven't been able to find any information online about the company (Southern Junior Models of Leatherhead) that made it. Priced at 29 shillings and two pence it was probably a relatively expensive purchase, perhaps a gift. There are some measurements in my father's handwriting but he clearly didn't get very far with it. 

My dilemma is whether I should (a) try to sell it - I know there are collectors for these kinds of vintage models and kits or (b) attempt to make it. What would you do? (bear in mind that my woodworking skills verge on the non-existent and my model making is untested). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.