One way traffic

By Mobius

Star

..for a month?

I was farcically crowned rugby club volunteer of the month and presented with this magnificent naff plastic trophy marked with last seasons main sponsor - purely for a presentation photo then popped back behind the bar. 

Myself and a few others in the know were in stitches of laughter as our club stalwart and new President when prompted said it was postponed, then forgot he'd been briefed a few days earlier and handed a prepared few lines. He then asked am I supposed to read this out when handed another copy. He's a great guy and tirelessly works and supports the club. 

It summarised my work at the club - but am fairly sure it was prompted by helping out at the clubs main fund raising event of the year - the fireworks on Mrs M's birthday; I dedicated it her on my acceptance.

I enjoyed it all the more because of the farce, which also reflects what a great atmosphere we have throughout the club. 

Poor photo as I only took it and very quickly when prompted by the president in the nicest possible way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.