Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas presents

Goodness but it rained today ...all day. We were told that with global warming our winters would be milder and wetter, and that is exactly what this winter has been like so far. Xena was walked by P today so I did not have to drag her out into the rain - she went wearing her raincoat as last week she came home soaked to the bone - her thin natural coat does not offer much protection from the rain - and today when she came home she was not so miserable or cold and wet.

I had to look indoors for a blip today and I realised that some presents have started appearing under the tree. Luke and Meriel left their presents there on the weekend - you can tell their presents as they are wrapped in the pages of the Financial Times, they try to be very 'green' and would not buy wrapping paper when the 'pink' pages of the FT will do very nicely - the FT being a nod to Luke's work.

I went down a rabbit hole today reading reviews of all the good books of 2023 (many of which I have already read) and putting them on my Amazon wishlist so when I need to buy my next book for my Kindle I already have a shortlist (actually its a very long list as I am an avid reader). I am on my 70th book for the year, which is a record for me - to be fair most of my reading these days is done via audiobooks which I listen to when walking Xena, cooking, ironing, driving and other things that don't require me to think about what I am doing. I do read too but I don't always have time to sit down and read for hours. 

A simple veggie curry for supper - we try to eat as light as possible in the run up to Christmas as the Christmas period is so calorific, and we don't need to add to the nation's obesity problem, haha! Thankfully I don't like mince pies or Christmas cake which means I can have more chocolate helps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.