analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Jelutong. Lumix M4/3 14mm

I have had this plank of Jelutong - Dyera costulata - in my lumber stash for just a little over 40 years.  It was bought in Cape Town to use for making the keyboard of a harpsichord.  It followed me to Boston, and now it seems, finally, to have found an appropriate use.  The jelutong tree, which can grow to enormous height and immense girth, yields a soft, even-grained lumber which is easy to work and is stable.  These are desirable properties to model and pattern makers.  
Since the trees are considered endangered, I would never seek out the lumber now, since there are sustainable alternatives. But I have it; it should be used well to  justify the tree's sacrifice.  What's curious is that the plank still has the stamp from the sawmill in Malaysia whence it came.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.