Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Gail force!!!

After yesterday's early morning success, today I got up and cleaned out the fish tank. The fish have been blowing bubbles of disgust at me from behind a dark film for a couple of weeks, as I failed to clean them out. (It was all right though because I couldn't see them because of the dirty glass!). Now they are in crystal clear water and ready for the festivities!
Next stop was Stockbridge to drop off the K̶i̶t̶c̶h̶e̶n̶ ̶m̶a̶i̶d̶ ̶ little sister for a manicure and massage. She opted for hot stones and loved it!
When I got back I got stuck into doing the Christmas cake and got the main icing on. I was annoyed to find my cake boards are too large to fit my stand though so had to do a quick Amazon order as It couldn't find the right size locally. They'll be here tomorrow.
I shot onto town on the bus next, to take something back to John Lewis. Once I'd done that, not yet having got around to eating, I had a pizza in the Salerno Pizza place. I plucked up the nerve to ask for a small one and they gave me the children's menu - which was a much more manageable size than the big ones - and cheaper. It was very tasty too....I passed on the fruit shoot and ice cream.
Back home again I leapt into the car and headed for Morrisons to get some veg and some meat for the next week. For reasons which shall become apparent it will be rather a busy time and I don't want to have to worry about shopping.
Next stop was to Gail, my hairdresser and willing subject of today's blip. She's been doing my hair for over 30 years now and encouraged me in what she called my Annie Lennox platinum blond look. When I was working, and before my blond period, I used to have quite dramatic colours of highlights which she enjoyed doing too. I love going to her salon which is at her house, it's always got lots to see.
Today I had decided to bite the bullet and go au naturel, to see what colour my hair really is these days! I am now my natural grey, more or less . It's still quite dark but definitely not the light to mid brown it used to be. It has a wide variety of shades of grey in it too. She now tells me that I'm channelling Judi Dench! I'm less happy about that, much as I admire her, she's 20 years older than me rather than 6 months younger. As a point of interest, Annie Lennox is another Christmas Day birthday!
Tomorrow is the first of our family's Christmas birthdays, Katy's, so both girls and their families are coming here for a take away Chinese meal. I'm not sure what Josie will make of that, or Isobel for that matter!

I've still only wrapped one present! Definite displacement activities going on here . I'll need to wrap a birthday present or two before tomorrow afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.