Paladian

By Paladian

Familiarity

They say it breeds contempt, but I'm not so sure about that, but it does mean you take things for granted.

For example - I don't care to photograph Rainbow Lorikeets so much, because they are as common as blackbirds in the UK. You get so used to them.

For example, we live in a 2-story house, and outside our bedroom window, there is a little Juliet balcony. Did it occur to me to use it as a bird hide? No, it did not. I am too familiar with it. BUT, once I realised it gave me an eye to eye view of birds in our oak tree, I was up there like a shot.

I love to get images of Musk Lorikeets simply because they are not so familiar. I love their shyness, and their slightly more subdued colouring.

(I also got a shot of a Silver eye and an Eastern Spinebill - it's bird city in that tree, but I like this the best).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.