Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Allo

Quickly, before the weather turned nasty again, I went for a walk with my old friend from primary school. We ambled all the way down the hill to Greenwich where we found nestled between the Cutty Sark on the right and the Greenwich foot tunnel on the left, Michael Price Proudly Presents England's Finest Golden Galloping Horses For Your Pleasure Enjoyment, so we sat on a bench there for a while and watched the merry-go-round.

Naturally enough, the weather did then turn and we had to walk all the way back up the hill in wind and rain, but it was lovely to chat about all manner of things.

Back at mum's I realised that I have spent the last couple of days weaving my embroidery threads too tightly through the mosquito netting and it really needed unpicking. Gah! I've had to unpick little bits before but never anything like as much as this. For the first time in its life I actually ran an iron over it, with protection provided by a clean damp tea-towel. It looks as though it will be OK just so long as I pay better attention not only to where I poke the needle but also how tightly I pull the thread, I don't ever want to undo two whole days work again.

Suitably disheartened, I sat down with mum to watch the 1972 version of The Amazing Mr Blunden as we found it is available in its entirety on YouTube. I enjoyed it as a child but have no difficulty in understanding why this has not stood the test of time quite so well as say, The Railway Children. Both films directed by Lionel Jeffries, perhaps he should have known when to do a spot of unpicking to achieve a superior finished article.

If you want to do the same, add the subtitles for added amusement, presumably created when AI was just crawling

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.