An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A place for everything...

Quite a productive day today, even though I didn't get the soup I'd planned to make, made.  That will be an additional job for Saturday.

I did manage to get myself organised for the three social events coming up.  Going to D's sister Ele's for dinner tomorrow.  Andrew, Nikki and Esme will be there too.  This will be Christmas Day no 2 as we keep all the family presents to open once we're together.  It will be a fun day :-)

Event no 2 is Hogmanay when Ele, Kenny, Agnes and Adrian will come to ours.  I will serve up a small buffet around 10.30pm so we are fed in time for The Bells, when we will have the traditional madeira cake, cherry bun, fruit cake and shortbread as we toast the New Year.  It's not obligatory to have a slice of each but I know those that will! ;-)

Event No 3 is New Year's Day dinner, when I have the family here (basically the same folk we'll be seeing at Ele's tomorrow) for our traditional Ne'erday steak pie dinner.  That will also be good fun and they will all stay over so the fun will continue into the 2nd January.  

So, with all that in mind I spent a chunk of this afternoon looking out the clothes and accessories I want to wear to the three gatherings.  To avoid time wasting I also tried all of the outfits on to make sure I am happy with them (otherwise I will get dressed to go out, have doubts about what I have chosen, and end up trying on a load of other things in a panic till there's a pile of clothes mounting up and I am running late, and then end  up wearing the original thing anyway! ) So that is all sorted and decided so I can relax.

I also had my bi-annual clean of the jewellery I wear most so it's all sparkling and ready for the new year.  

I received an online newsletter for a Scottish artist I follow on FB and Insta which contained a video tutorial about painting funny little robins.  They reminded me a little of my Chookie Birdies so before dinner I had a little painting session and followed the tutorial.  Quick and easy and good fun.  I will do it again with some minor changes.  It also gave me the chance to try out one of D's Christmas gifts to me.  A lovely ceramic paintbrush holder.  He actually bought two, one glazed and one unglazed, each with a little bee perched on them.  I absolutely love them and they are so useful!  No more wet paint brushes lying on my table as I paint :-)

This evening has been spent finalising my online Tesco delivery.  Steak pies, sausage rolls, cold meats and breakfast goodies coming from the butcher but all the other bits and bobs from Tesco.  Think I am done.  Delivery not till Saturday but wanted it done tonight as we're at Ele's tomorrow and will be late home.

I can relax now.  I think! :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.