danielmuir

By danielmuir

An unfortunate evening

I'd arranged to meet Iain after work for a wee Pre-Ten-Under-the-Ben spin at Carron Valley. I rolled up in the car park at the appointed time only to see him, caked in blood, seriously pale, and generally looking like a zombie, sitting half in and half out of his car.

A helpful chap had found him lying concussed and probably unconscious near the bottom of the 'runway' a while before, helped him back to the car and called for an ambulance.

By the time I arrived he was more or less with it but still in shock and concussed, not making much sense. A paramedic arrived and checked him over, then an ambulance came and I put his bike in my car and followed it down to the big new hospital in Larbert, where the picture was taken. By that time he was physically still looking pretty bashed up, though a much better colour, but mentally apart from not being able to recall the crash or aftermath, pretty much back to normal.

Ali and Ava arrived later, we retrieved his car and I headed home. Not the evening I'd expected. And I don't suppose Iain will be doing Ten Under now.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.