One step at a time!

By IanO

Spoke too soon...

My last post was a while ago, I thought I was on the mend, but no, it was to be a while before I was able to go out again. 

My pic today was the cause of some consternation to us. Just over a week ago we awoke to no electricity and quickly ascertained it was just our house. To cut a very long story short, the system would not reset, fortunately we were able to get our electrician to call the same morning, even though he had finished for the Christmas break. It took a few hours but he was eventually able to trace the issue to a faulty electrical socket (pictured). This was quickly replaced and we once again had the benefit of electricity - how would anyone live without it nowadays? 

When I was a youngster we only used electricity for lights and the TV, we could have managed without those at a push. In fact I recall going on holiday to a wonderful cottage in the depths of Wales that had no electricity at all. We used candles and oil lamps for lighting, mum soon learned to cook on an ancient Calor Gas cooker. It was a wonderful holiday (not sure mum thought the same) and although I was only about 7 or 8 at the time I remember it with fondness to this day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.