Today's Special

By Connections

Christmas 1955

I've been going through old photos today. This one and the extra one caught my eye and brought up many memories.  

I was eight years old that Christmas, soon to be nine in February 1956. I was a horse-crazy little girl, as evident in the jodhpurs, low riding boots, model horse, and horse book among my gifts. I also liked drawing, reading, and dolls. 

My family -- father, mother, me, and younger sister E -- moved from Brunswick, Georgia to South River, New Jersey in January 1951, a month before my 4th birthday. 

In 1955, after several years in a rental house, my parents bought a house in East Brunswick, about two miles away. A few days after my 8th birthday, our family grew to five with the birth of another daughter, M. I loved having a baby sister and we're still very close.

The extra is of me several months later, age 9, garbed in the riding outfit I'd received at Christmas. The shadow on the lower right probably was my father's, as he took all the family photos. I can't remember if I'd been on a horse yet by this point, but maybe I'll find out as I gradually go through boxes of photos and letters in the new year..

(Thanks to all who commented on my December 22 blip -- I'm very grateful for your kind words and good wishes.)



Blip 2264

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.