Nearly Invisible Stick Bug

That's not exactly the scientific name--I just needed some way to think about this creature. I found it on (yesterday's) erigeron, and it is so well camouflaged that I only saw it at all because it moved slightly. The delicate legs and wings look like the long seeds of the flowers, and every part is so thin that it could be a hair or a stem or just about anything but a living being. It's really hard to sort out--there is a tiny triangular brown head with big eyes, and seemingly only 2 pair of skinny legs. Then it appears to have two abdomens--one is quite curved and long and thin, and the other is fatter--but it can't have two abdomens--that's not possible. The long thin straight airplane wings appear to be just wings, nothing more, though they are a bit furry. I'm going to try and look this up, but I'm stymied about where to begin. I can skip the sections on flies, bees, caterpillars and beetles, but where do I go from there?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.