DDW

By DDW

Titfer

tit·fer

[tit-fer]
noun Chiefly British Slang.
hat.

Origin:
1895-1900; rhyming slang, shortening of tit for tat

The only hat I possess is this straw one. When and if I remember, I shove it on my head when I'm rootling around in my sunny garden. It has also enjoyed several visits to beaches around the world.

The other hats you see here all belong to that fashion plate, Mr. W.** He has quite a dizzying collection of baseball caps (only a couple of examples here), a British wool flat cap for those rainy, foggy, chilly days, a French beret which is his preferred "lid" when ploughing snow in the winter, and a Tilley hat used to shield Himself from the sun's burning rays.

** (It may (or may not) be of interest to know that Mr. W's clothes closet is about three times the size of mine!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.