analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Downy Woodpecker. Leitz Telyt-V 200mm

I was asked to work an extra half day at the clinic today, from lunch break until close.  It left me with a few hours to fill this morning.  Being quite warm for January 3rd, - 40°F, absolutely no wind, and a thin, high layer of cloud making for very interesting light - I decided to head over to Mt. Auburn Cemetery.  A nice birder lady whom I encountered told me that the administration had put out the bird feeder for the winter, not far from where we were.  Sure enough, there was a feeder hanging from a tree with big cakes of suet inside.  I positioned myself perhaps twenty feet from it, camera equipped with the 200mm lens, and waited.  The Blue Jays threatened to stop by, but didn't, but along came this Downy Woodpecker with his little red spot. The Extra shows him reaching in for a beak full.The lady told me that a few degrees can make a huge difference to how many birds visit the feeder.  Today was a bit too warm.  I shall return there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.