Flying-leap

By flying

Dahlia.....

....vibrant ring of yellow stamens against velvet red petals, all sitting beautifully amongst shades of green in my wild garden, looks like there's more buds to open, brings a smile.

The last two years I've let my dahlias go to seed, sometimes goldfinches visit in autumn to nibble on the seeds, sometimes autumn winds disperse the seeds then in late spring plants spring up everywhere. I have red, light yellow, dark yellow, vibrant pink, soft pink, white, coral, orange, some are slightly two toned, all of them are single blooms rather than doubles, bees visit along with monarch butterflies, they're ever so pretty. The most surprising thing of all, they're not only in full sun but also shade or dappled shade, dahlias are full of surprises!

Thursday.....grocery day for mum and I, nice to sit and chat for a while. It was warm, bright and sunny with a light breeze as I strolled through the garden, hope the forecasted rain arrives tomorrow, humidity is high at present. Tonight as I type at 8.30pm it's daylight, very calm, bees are doing the rounds as are the waxeyes in the trees, keeping the population of aphids down, I hope!

Happy Thursday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.