Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

The photo is of my lunch for tomorrow  - houmous with the last of my homemade sauerkraut, veg to dip, plus cheese.

I met Angie at The Climbing Unit at 10, and also met her husband and granddaughter (age 4) for the first time. We had a good session and I actually managed no.9 of the competition circuit, a traverse, so was well pleased because I hadn't managed nos.7 or 8. Horses for courses! Home, lunch and then I began packing for the weekend. 

The clothes are not a problem, I know what I'm taking and it goes in the bag in 5 minutes. The food however, since starting Zoe, is a different matter. Meals are more complicated because there are more ingredients, and I don't want to have to cook evening meals completely from scratch on a hutmeet. So having discovered that I've no cauliflower and chickpea curry in the freezer - better make a batch next week  - I've had to decide what to have, that will score reasonably well and that's easy to half cook at home.

Zoe Nutrition is all about plants, with diversity being the most important thing. So whereas I've eaten porridge made with water and added Greek yoghurt for years, now I've cut down the amount of oats, added double that number of mixed seeds and also a fruit, plus the yoghurt. The fruit will be something different every day - home grown raspberries, mixed berries, grated apple, banana, plums. For a weekend away it's complicated, even though I try to make it simple. Another complication is that we often stay in locations with no signal, so I try to log all my meals in advance on the Zoe app, i.e. today.

You're probably thinking.. "good grief, I couldn't be bothered, what's the point?!", but I don't really mind the bother, I'm retired so I've got time.. and anyway I'd make the time and well... I enjoy getting it right. 

Mid-afternoon I got out for a walk. Good pace, knee no bother. Got back, stretched for the second time today, resumed the packing!

2.26 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.