flavia13

By flavia13

MORECAMBE CRABBING POOL

A  beautiful frosty, cold, sunny day - hoorah.  My favourite sort of weather.  

A trip over to Morecambe today to see Mum.  Thank heavens all the roads had been gritted.  Our side roads were a bit icy when we left but OK with care.  It still amazes me how many people do not drive to the weather conditions and although, luckily, the traffic to Morecambe on the A590 and M6 was quiet there were still a fair few that were driving well over the speed limited!!!!

We had a good catch up with Mum.  My brother and his partner popped in too so it was lovely to see them too, first time in 2024.

On the way home we came via the A6 as usual and we stopped off on The Prom for me to take some photos.  It was busy, much worse further into Morecambe but at the top end, although busy it wasn't quite so bad. Nice to see everyone out enjoying the sunshine for a change.

The photo is of the Bare Crabbing Pool in Morecambe.   For some time reason I have never noticed it before.   I have linked an article from last summer about the work carried out on the pool, which probably explains why I'd never noticed it before!!!

I also noticed a couple of wrecked small boats up almost to the sea wall tucked up under flood defences.  I don't know whether they got blown up there or have been bought up there with a view to disposing of them!!!
Then we headed up the A6 home.  Boy was it busy.  Had to queue to get through Carnforth and then to get petrol.  Still we made it  OK.

It was nice to see bright blue skies.  

I couldn't make up my mind  which photo to use so I've put a diptych in extras of the other two I was thinking of using.  

That is all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.