Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Old Men Forget*

The machines in my basement workshop have been silent too long, due to the combined depressing effects of the pandemic and the looming possibility of a dictatorship.

It’s time for action, so I looked for something very simple to reintroduce myself to the bandsaw, table saw, jointer, planer, and router (mounted in the table - not freehand yet).

This looks like the perfect project that will also satisfy the many pieces of wood yearning to be transformed into something beautiful and useful. A bit early (or late) for Christmas gifts, though.

*Some of you may recognize these words from the stirring St. Crispin’s Day speech in Shakespeare’s Henry V. Although I am a confirmed pacifist, that speech makes me want to go fight for some just cause — especially when I hear it spoken by Laurence Olivier. I first encountered this in my Welsh grammar school English Literature class, and I still can quote many of the lines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.