analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

All That's Left.

I had to break down and get my hair cut today, taking me to Massachusetts Avenue in North Cambridge.  I have been putting this off for several weeks: next door to the hairdresser was a favorite store which has just closed permanently, and I didn't want to have to face it.  There has been a store for woodworkers there for nearly four decades.  When I first came to Boston, it was called The Woodworkers' Store.  Then, some thirty years ago, it was bought by another company.  Nothing much changed: the same woodworking guys continued there, as helpful as ever, they sold machinery, some lumber.  There was a continuity.  
Back in November, the company announced that they were going to close the Cambridge store; it was just too small, and didn't fit their business model.  There was an outcry from the regulars. I wrote to the corporation expressing my sadness and disappointment, and asking why they didn’t just move the store to a bigger space in the city.  They politely told me to go pound sand...  This place was the only one of its kind right in the city.  Now, the nearest is a 30 minute drive out to the northern suburbs, otherwise it's mail order.  The store closed its doors finally at the end of December.  As I recorded this scene, all that is left are the posters in the windows.  I said my goodbyes to the staff back in November, bought some lumber on sale.  The For Lease sign is up already. End of an era. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.