KathyH58

By KathyH58

Red sky in the morning

When I got up this morning I could see the beginning of the sunrise and I knew it would either be spectacular or it would turn out to be nothing. I waited about 15 minutes and sure enough it was spectacular. The old saying 'Red sky in the morning, sailors take warning' is true today. As the morning progressed the wind picked up, later this afternoon it started to snow but quickly changed to rain. The wind has been howling tonight.

The new photography meetup group was supposed to have a photowalk on the Halifax waterfront this morning at 10:30. When he posted it, he said 'weather permitting'. There was no change when I checked my email around 8:30, so I got ready and left to catch the ferry across instead of trying to find parking on the Halifax side. As we were crossing I could see one of the military ships in the harbor so as soon as I got off the ferry I went out to take a photo of it. Then went back into the terminal to change the lens on my camera and realized I had left my other lens home. While I was there one of the ferry workers saw me and asked if I wanted to come on the ferry to take photos. I should have went because he would have taken me up top. But I said no, I was meeting some people. One other person showed up, and we waited around for almost a half hour, no one else showed up. The organizer postponed the walk till tomorrow, but he waited till 9:30 to do so, an hour before the event was supposed to start. I guess he thought everyone would be attached to their phone and would have it set to get notifications from meetup. I told him that I get enough notifications on my phone now, I don't need another app beeping at me.

The other one that showed up, I know him from the old meetup group, so we walked around for a bit, then I decided to take the next ferry back to Dartmouth so I could stop and get groceries and get home before the storm started.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.