Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Wave

Made a trip to SAM to see the Hokusai exhibition before it closes….Got there at 10:45 AM just as a line was beginning to form…(Opens at 10)  Too many wonderful pieces of art to absorb with too many people.  We even dug around for a mask to wear ..not comfortable in such crowds.   His woodcuts and paintings and particularly, for me, the sketchbooks are exquisite but I was struck by what his impact was on future artists as there were all sorts of good examples of his influence.……The Great Wave off Kanagawa that we all know has been used so much. (extra)   DId we all appreciate Mt Fugi and the fishing boat?     

The blip is the lego version… by Jumpei Matsui.   The photo with the girl is from the back of the sculpture and I’ve just put the front picture on the pedestal.  (there's also a video of him building it)    We had to leave after an hour and the line was enormous!      

Recently read “All the Beauty in the World” by a 10 year guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Patrick Bringley….recommended by blipper Kd,.…fascinating,  I thot, of a place I know my way around… but what struck me there was how great is their catalog with so much information about each work.   I might have to stick to learning about lots of art this way.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.