Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Rain or snow?

Down to minus 6C here last night and we heard the gritter go by.  Later on we drove down town - I had a dental appointment and MrsM had some shopping to do - and the roads were reasonable. 

I decided to walk to the gym this afternoon though my hip is still sore. I asked the guy who did the Strength & Balance on Tuesday if any of the exercises might have hurt my hip and he suggested that one or two might need to be avoided - he said he would point this out next week!

More snow on the hills today. My Blip was taken from Ardconnel Road, looking across the island of Kerrera to the mountains of Mull. The piece of grass in the foreground apparently belongs to the Council - there are steps leading down to the lower area where a path leads out on to Craigard Road. The top part has three terraces and the bottom section is flat. Oban's Hope Kitchen has apparently thought about getting permission to plant an orchard there, and I've been thinking that it would be an ideal site for a Keep Oban Beautiful garden, getting sunshine as it does for a large part of the day. We could put seats on the terraces with flowering shrubs beside and behind, and the  Hope Kitchen orchard could be planted on the flat land at the bottom

As I was contemplating it a lady came out of a house opposite, so I asked her about it. Apparently the land was given to the council on condition that it was kept for public use. Sounds perfect! I wonder. The lady thought that the local yobs would congregate on the seats and do whatever local yobs do in the evening!

Not long after arriving home the gritter lumbered by again. Rather odd as the forecast said it was going to rain tonight!  We'll see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.