Living my dream

By Mima

Baking

Thank you for the lovely comments about yesterday’s sunrise. There was no such glory this morning with a heavy blanket of cloud over us.

It’s a hot, hot day. We are under clouds, but it is still 30C and sticky thanks to a subtropical airflow.

Accordingly I got on with kitchen tasks as soon as I was out of bed. There was pea soup to finish, as well as the bean pickles. I stopped making both yesterday evening thanks to the attention of a swarm of blowflies. They don’t wake up as early as I do, thank goodness, and I was able to complete those two things without disturbance.

I continued to make the most of the coolish morning by mowing and line trimming: both of which are much needed across most of the property. There’s more to do tomorrow, but I had to stop at 11.30 because I couldn’t see through the sweat dripping into my eyes. It was time for a long cold drink and brunch.

Bean and I had a very slow amble along to Paradise Gully Road, where she spent most of the time wallowing in the creek, terribly pleased with herself for having found a cool place. She does demonstrate some common sense occasionally.

And so the afternoon has been at a slower pace, in barely any clothes and splashing myself with the sprinkler at every opportunity. Everything needs water in these conditions.

Rinse and repeat tomorrow by the looks of the forecasts, and then there will be the relief of a cooler southerly change. Yes, I am actually relishing the idea of a southerly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.