talloplanic views

By Arell

Wash in, wash out

While the latest storm is raging outside and everywhere is awash, I thought I would try reproofing my jacket.  To be honest, it's got to the point where I'm wondering just how long you can keep an ostensibly waterproof jacket waterproof.  I don't remember exactly when I bought it but it's at least 19 years old now and has lived quite a hard life: the Goretex doesn't work very well, the DWR coating wore off long ago and I have no idea how many times it's been through the washing machine with the Nikwax stuff that looks and feels like extra-runny teflon bicycle chain lube.

For good measure I chucked in my three waterproof-type hi-viz rucksack covers that I was given for free at some event or other, plus my saddle cover that looks like a shower cap.

The jury's out on yesterday's pannier rack mods.  I might need to redesign them for more stiffness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.