Living my dream

By Mima

More heat

It’s another hot day. So once again I was busy this morning, then came to a halt at lunchtime and removed most of my clothes. I’ve  been on the windowseat this afternoon with both windows wide open, reading my book and catching up with blips.

Yes, I snuck onto the seat before Bean decided it was the perfect spot to remain cool. She’s been spreadeagled on the floor enjoying the breezes from the bathroom window, the main door and the window over the sink, which all converge just where she’s lying. Clever dog.

We had a truncated walk. As we went down the road I could feel the heat radiating off the surface and we both soon showed signs of discomfort, so we turned towards home for ice cubes and shade.

The onions filled just two jars which will be rationed through winter. I want to grow enough for at least six jars, so I’ve saved a lot for seed, and I will allocate an entire raised bed to growing them next season.

While I was walking round the estate first thing I found five apricots on the ground beneath tree number three: the one I blipped eight days ago. They are ripening nicely.

I also noticed that some of the trees I planted two winters ago near the truck are suffering from lack of rain. In fact three have turned into twigs. Accordingly I had a happy two hours weeding round the live ones, and then giving them a really long drink. I’ll repeat the watering tomorrow and they should rally. I’ll keep a good eye on them.

We are heading for yet another warm night. And I’m heading for a cool shower…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.